Fashion / Miscellaneous

Trim’s May Favorites

Rejoice kiddos, summer is finally here. If you haven’t been drowning yourself in ice cream and lemonade already, you are doing something wrong. While the list of my summertime favorites keeps on building, here are just a few of my May favorites from this past month:

 

Fashion:

Free People Bralettes:

Source: Pinterest.com

Source: Pinterest.com

I decided to go for the splurge this spring when I saw some of the adorable lingerie designs free people put out this season. I can safely say this was a regret-free decision. The sunburst pattern of the strappy back bralette ($20) gives you the easiest way to dress up any open back tank-top or dress. In the summer I try to take any excuse to go braless and with many of their designs being under-wire free, I’m a happy camper.

 

Jelly Sandals from Urban Outfitters ($20)

Source: uo.com

Source: uo.com

Hear me out. Those of you shaking your head in disgust, saying good riddance to this long-forgotten childhood trend, I get it. However, being the glitter-obsessed, nostalgic girl that I am, I just couldn’t say no. The more modern structure of the shoe has taken a twist on the much-loved 90s classic. These sandals have become a statement piece in many of my summer outfits this season and regardless of the shocked reactions from my sister, I will continue to literally walk down memory lane.

 

Beauty:

Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray ($42 full size, $21.50 travel size)

Screen shot 2014-06-03 at 7.33.29 PM

After hearing all the ranting and raving about this spray, I finally ran out to buy it. As almost an alternative to dry shampoo, this product gives you that messy, voluminous texture without the chalky residue. After curling my hair with a wand, I just flip my hair a bit, spray this through, and volia! Perfect summer waves. TIP: I opted for the smaller size because a little bit of this product goes a long way, if you are just trying it out, don’t commit to the large size just yet.

 

Anastasia Tinted Brow Gel ($22)

Screen shot 2014-06-03 at 7.34.16 PM

Eyebrows have always been weird territory for me when doing my everyday make-up. I’ve never been one to fill in my brows nor did I see the need to. That is, until I used this product. This eyebrow gel is perfect for setting your eyebrow look if you do fill ‘em or if you are someone like me who is just experimenting with eyebrow makeup. This tinted gel only sticks to hairs, so you can’t make that big of a mess. I find that on its own it just adds a little more shape to my brows, taking my make-up look to a new level. Find it at sephora or online.

 

Music:

Lana Del Rey “Shades of Cool”

Whether you love her or hate her, there’s no denying the chilling sound of Lana’s newest single, “Shades of Cool”. This song is meant to be heard driving, blasted loud, windows down. The effect will send a shivering up and down your spine, but in the best way possible.

 

Mac DeMarco

Mac DeMarco on his own is a favorite of mine this month. I’m very late on this jump but, better late than never. Mac DeMarco’s songs are literally perfect for those lazy summer days. His newest album Salad Days has easily become the anthem to my summer. His other albums are surely nothing to miss either. Check him out if you haven’t already.

 

Stay Groovy,

Victoria Tripsas

 

Leave a comment