Culture and Lifestyle / Miscellaneous / Music / Women's Fashion

Trim’s February Favorites

At last, February has finally reached an end and we can finally see the light that is Spring soon to come. During those final dull days of winter, here are some of the things we have been loving to keep your spirits uplifted…

Fashion

Rounded Sunglasses from Forever 21

  This season, big, round sunglasses have been hitting stores everywhere. I fell instantly in love with this trend but instead of throwing away hundreds of dollars on a designer pair, I hit up Forever21 in hopes of finding a pair more in my budget. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of different styles they had, and the best part: they are all $5.80. After long deliberation, I chose a solid black and silver rimmed pair available in stores but seeing the selection online, I can guarantee I will overdose on this trend this spring. Check some of the styles out online:

Screen shot 2014-03-01 at 8.45.21 AM

Cool Girl Round Sunglasses

Screen shot 2014-03-01 at 8.47.30 AM

Retro Round Sunglasses

Screen shot 2014-03-01 at 8.49.19 AM

Glittered Round Sunglasses

Beauty

MAC So Chaud

 I have heard marvelous things about this lip color in the past but never really checked it out. Impulsively shopping one day, I stopped by the MAC counter at Nordstrom and just bought it right there. I’m obsessed. This orangey-red shade has been the perfect pop of color in these dreary winter days. It is such a unique hue without being too orange or too traditional red. You’ll just have to see for yourself.

Roberts Rose Water

RobertsRoseWater

   I have heard great things about this product. I’ve read about it’s many benefits, but after I saw its adorable vintage-apothecary packaging I was sold. I’m a sucker for good packaging and bottling, don’t judge a book by its cover, I know, but I thought I would give it a go. This product is the most refreshing, cool product in my skincare routine. It tones and removes oils and dirt that might be left on your skin after washing but I promise its gentle, soothing feel on the skin is worth it alone. My skin feels clean and lighter after using. I have heard this all-star product benefits the hair and can be used for other home remedies that I definitely plan to look into.

Food and Drink

Peanut Butter and Co. White Chocolate Wonderful

pbco-wcw-2012-web-lrg

As  college students we all adopt cheap, fast and sometimes bizarre food habits. Being someone who can hardly cook at all, I am always buying things to have in a flash.My favorite right now: peanut butter and a lot of it. White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter is an oh-so delicious spin off the traditional treat. Peanut Butter and Co. have a whole line of unusual but delectable flavors like maple, cinnamon raisin, and dark chocolate. Why spend time cooking a healthy meal when you can eat a jar of peanut butter for dinner? They also have a whole restaurant in the village dedicated to peanut butter and jelly; A place I definitely plan to visit soon.

Order of the month: Dirty Chai Tea Soy Latte

dirty-chai3

Yes. Unfortunately I am one of those; can’t just stick with the same simple drink order at Starbucks everyday. This month I’ve been addicted to this drink. Call me crazy but I actually like soy milk. Luckily I still have the luxury of having milk when I want to unlike my lactose free friends, but sometimes I just prefer soy milk for the taste. Chai lattes are good on their own but the pick-me-up of an added shot of espresso is a must for long days.

Books & Music

Cake Wrecks: When Professional Cakes go Hilariously Wrong by Jen Yates

cake-wrecks-when-professional-cakes-go-hilariously-wrong

  My mother has actually been quite the fan of this book for sometime. It is just a simple coffee-table book with pictures of disastrously funny cakes from actual bakeries. Whether it be corny mistakes or inappropriate pictures that were drawn on the cakes, this book is an easy way to laugh no matter how stupid. Feeling blue? Why not look at a picture of a bizarre and misspelled cake?

“Watch Out for This (Bumaye)” by  Major Lazer featuring Busy Signal, The Flexican and FS Green

This song has been a favorite of my friends for sometime now and I finally joined the craze. Very different from what I usually post about but this is the ultimate pump-up song no matter what the case. Dance to it, run to it or take my route : drive around with your friends blasting it as you dance along like idiots.

“Going Out In Style” by Dropkick Murphys

        This song is spectacular anytime of the year, as is the band, but maybe it’s just the anticipation of St. Patrick’s day that’s got me listening to it way more often this past month. Whatever the reasoning behind it, who cares? This song is killer.

“Right Back Where We Started From”  by Maxine Nightingale

Let’s take it back to 1975. Just get up and dance. No further explanation, this song is always perfection.

What are some of your favorites from this past month? Have you tried any of these products? We’d love to hear from you.

Stay Groovy,

Victoria Tripsas

ig:vtripz

@Theofficalvic

Leave a Reply

