Behind the Scenes / Culture and Lifestyle / Fashion / Fun Stuff / Magazine / Street Styles / Women's Fashion

The Face Behind the Fashion: Michelle Kim

Trim Magazine takes pride is presenting to our readers the most magical and well-constructed editorial shoots, featuring up and coming designers, and sometimes even a fun fuzzy friend. These masterpieces wouldn’t be possible without our amazing photography team, and of course our talented Fashion Director, Michelle Kim. The blog team got a chance to get a peek inside Michelle’s closet to see what she deems necessary to balance a steady and fashionable wardrobe in the ever-busy life of a Fashion Director, intern, and college student.

 IMG_4964

Every girl needs a LBD, and it better be a shift! It’s definitely one of the most versatile pieces in my closet at the moment because I can layer anything from vests to sweaters with it.

Outfit: Colorblock Vest – ASTR // Shift Dress – Leith // Watch – Michael Kors // Bracelet – Nordstrom BP // Boots – TopShop

IMG_4957 On days that I’m feeling more experimental, I go for mixing prints and fabrics with loud colors. Go bold or go home, right?

Outfit: Sheer Floral Print Tee – ASTR // Asymmetrical Tweed Skirt – ASTR // Cardigan – JCrew // Booties – Tildon

IMG_4952

This look is more-or-less my uniform when I’m interning in the city – black on black on black.

Outfit: Surplus Shirt – ro & de // Track Pants – Wayf // Heels – Enzo Angiolini // Watch – Vintage // Sunglasses – Vintage from Beacon’s Closet

1379215_490466157717245_2047996339_n

Name: Michelle Kim

Year: Junior

Major: Marketing

TM: What’s your favorite part about being Fashion Director for Trim?

MK: My favorite part is getting to know so many underrated designers and artists. Our contributors for this season’s issue are so incredibly talented and having the opportunity to work with them is the most rewarding aspect of this position. In a way, their passions inspire mine.

TM: Out of all your amazing internships, what has been your favorite experience so far?

MK: I’ve interned across a variety of departments – from marketing, pr, wholesale, and fashion- but I have to say I’m having the most fun at my current internship. At Women’s Wear Daily, I’ve had the privilege to attend an average of four shows a day during NYFW and help style photo shoots as well as web trend stories

. It’s refreshing to get in touch with my creative side.

TM: What’s your favorite part/what made your want to work in the fashion industry?

MK: I want to keep my options open in regards to the industry that I would like to work in, but I can’t seem to help being drawn to the fashion industry. The fast pace is intense, but in a good way. It gives me such a rush!

TM: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

MK: By the time I’m 30, I plan to move to Italy and work in Milan as a Marketing executive. Italy because that’s where I believe I’ll find true love and Milan because well, Prada. Need I really say more?

TM: What advice do you have for college students who want to get their foot in the industry?

Intern as much as you can across a ton of different departments. I never would have imagined myself to be a wholesale intern for Lacoste, but I ended up learning so much about the business-to-business aspect of fashion. Interning gives students a pretty accurate sense of what working in that company and department would really be like. The constant trial and error can seem frustrating at times, but I think we should take any experience as a valid learning experience.

Leave a Reply

