Fun Stuff / Miscellaneous

Introducing Trim’s Editors

For those of you who religiously visit our website, Facebook Page, Instagram, or even read the magazine with your morning coffee every day because you love it that much – Trim wanted to give you a behind the scenes look at the staff who works hours on end to bring you your daily entertainment. So, it is my pleasure to introduce to you the Trim Magazine Editors:

Lauren

Lauren Nester

Co-Editor-In-chief & Photo Director

Twitter: @LaurenNester

Instagram: @laurennester

Pinterest: @laurennester

Website: laurennester.4ormat.com

What year are you? 

Super senior! woot woot! graduating in may, 2014

What is your major? 

Photography BFA, but I’ve also taken an interest in Mythology.

What’s your favorite part about trim?

Definitely getting to work with all types of creative individuals of course… but I also like having a good excuse to be up at 4am eating a dozen PBJ sandwiches. #allnighters #deadlines

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 

Hopefully working out of my own studio in the Manhattan area. I’ll have a big dog named Rhino, who will come to all my shoots. Also, Maybe by then I’ll learn to enjoy cooked eggs, but I doubt it.

What are your top 5 either music, movies, stores, websites, or instagrams to follow right now? 

  • I’m a big fan of nasty gal, they always have great lookbooks to go through and the coolest shoes.
  • Buzzfeed is my go-to for when I’m bored on the train.
  • Pinterest has been the best place to keep all of my inspirations organized for upcoming shoots
  • I’ve got Pandora set up on my phone and Roku Box. My favorite stations are Nirvana, Black Keys, and New Order.
  • My guilty pleasure on twitter is @CuteEmergency ….. whenever I have a bad day, I check this bad boy out, and immediately feel better. Who doesn’t love baby puppies and otters eating sandwiches together???

Fun Facts:

  • My favorite clothes are my dads old 90s sweatshirts.
  • I have an addiction to herbal teas, my recent favorite is ginko.
  • My first tattoo is going to be the nordic letter F, also the symbol Gandalf draws on bilbo’s door in the hobbit.
  • I have a reoccurring dream every once in a while about a giant bear that follows me around all day.
  • In 2009 i was one of those kids with swine flu, almost didn’t walk at my high school graduation.
  • If i didn’t go into photography I would have become an anthropologist, I like dead stuff.
  • My first cell phone was run over by a school bus.
  • My boyfriend doesn’t like it when i cook, he says it’s scary to watch.
  • Eggplants piss me off, I don’t know why they’re just stupid.
  • One of my favorite photographers is also named Lauren and is in her 20s (Lauren Withrow)
  • My dream shoot is to work with elephants, because they’re the coolest

Adam

Adam Lowe

Co-Editor-in-Chief & Design Director

Instagram:  @AWLOWE

Twitter: @ADAMWLOWE

Year:  Junior

Website: www.adapttodesign.com

We were told to come up with questions for this short bio about each of us but because I can’t think of anything, here are a few posts from my twitter that will hopefully sum-up who I am:

  1. I don’t think the colors of the rainbow go well together.
  2. Montages are my favorite parts of movies.
  3. The only things that make me look tan are instagram filters.
  4. I don’t understand how the director of those local car commercials can think they did a good job and let them air.
  5.  If my spotify was my itunes library i’d be set.
  6.  There’s less of a chance of me physically bumping into someone while walking in NYC than there is when I’m in a hallway with 1 other person.
  7.  I love the sound quality of 80s movies. #AnimalHouse
  8.  I went to a restaurant where the menu was written in comic sans. I couldn’t eat there.

Ruchi

Ruchi Sherikar

Managing Editor

Twitter: ruchis19

Instagram: ruchis24

What is your year? 

Somewhere between May 2014-December 2014…It’s a little iffy.

 What is your major? 

Psychology and Human Resources

What’s your favorite part about trim?

Being able to be the above majors but still do something super awesome like Trim.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 

Hmmm. This is pretty lofty but who cares. I want to live in either the London, San Francisco or San Diego. I want to be able to photograph really well. I want to work on the corporate side of things for a cool, quirky publication. Oh and, I want to have one of those awesome Food Network kitchens that make you super excited to cook.

What are your top 5 either music, movies, stores, websites, or instagrams to follow right now? 

Buzz Feed, FoodGawker, Pinterest, Tumblr, Cupcakes & Cashmere

Norah Jones, Lana Del Rey, J. Cole, OneRepublic, Simon & Garfunkel

Erm…something fun and factual…

  • My first words were at 2 1/2 and I literally woke up, sat up on my bed and started belting out Ba Ba Black Sheep.
  • I love collecting nail polish.
  • I have a scarf addiction.
  • I can fall asleep anywhere, and at anytime, if I want to.
  • Cooking is my therapy. It’s my most favorite thing to do.
  • I love tomatoes. I can grab one and just bite into it like an apple.
  • I wear flip flops a lot. Even in the winter. I probably shouldn’t.
  • I’m left handed and when I lived in India, it was thought to be unacceptable and my teachers tried to make me write with my right hand. My parents had to come into school and tell the principal to tell them to stop.
  • I was born in India and I lived there until I was 7.
  • I have a really obnoxious laugh. Oh and I’ve been known to laugh in my sleep very often.
  • I only like red Sour Patch Kids.

Michelle

Michelle Kim

Fashion Director

Year: Junior, RBS Class of 2015

Major: Marketing

Minor: Art History

Instagram: mkim383

Twitter: glossipxgirl … yes it’s from middle school (aka those prime Gossip Girl days  XOXO)

Favorite Bloggers: Rumi Neely from FashionToast and Sabrina Meijer from afterDRK

Favorite Memes: Amused Anna Wintour, of course http://media2.onsugar.com/files/2012/12/51/3/166/1668379/a9c16c1b8a129cdd_0-amusedannawintour.xxxlarge_1/i/Amused-Anna-Wintour.jpg

Emily

Emily Beckman

Fashion Editorial Director

What is your year?

Sophomore (Class of 2016)

What is your major?

Majoring in Journalism and Media Studies; minoring in Psychology.

What’s your favorite part about trim?

My favorite part about Trim is the glowing passion each member has for the publication, therefore allowing it to come across at such a professional level. It is rare to find a college club/organization with this much motivation and cooperation.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I’d like to be working somewhere in the fashion industry, but I have yet to decide exactly where! The advertising department of a high-end fashion company has always intrigued me, but I’m definitely still exploring my options.

What are your top 5 either music, movies, stores, websites, or instagrams to follow right now?

Stores

1. JCrew

2. Burberry

3. Alexander McQueen

4. Stewart Weitzman

5. Kate Spade

James

James Victory 

Editorial Director

Twitter: @JVictory_

Instagram: jvictory12

What is your year? 

– Junior

 What is your major?

– Political Science and Economics Double Major, and Philosophy Minor.

What’s your favorite part about trim?

– The eclectic group of individuals that come together to form this colorful magazine, and the wonderful stories that the team gets the chance to write about.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

– First I see graduate school on the horizon, and after that hopefully a position at a company or cause where I can push for what I believe in.  Also, as a power lifter, I hope to be competitive on the national stage.

What are your top 5 either music, movies, stores, websites, or instagrams to follow right now? 

– The band Angels and Airwaves has always spoken to me and been an inspiration when I’m feeling a little down.  The best television show out there at the moment has to be Game of Thrones, and likewise, the book series “A Song of Ice and Fire”.

Fun Facts:

  • I had a red Japanese fighting fish named Tobasco that died when I was eight years old.
  •  I enjoy pizza, but my father doesn’t eat cooked cheese because it makes him gag so I rarely got to eat it as a kid.  I was also deprived of American favorites including cheeseburgers, etc.
  •  My favorite football (soccer) team is Liverpool F.C.  Y.N.W.A.
  • When I was in the fourth grade, I wrote a poem about spaghetti and sang it out loud in front of the class.  Sadly, my fly was open and my elementary school crush was in the front row and pointed it out.  I cried.
  • I am a U.S.A. Weightlifting Level 1 Sports Performance Coach.
  • Discovering the Crock Pot in college has been one of the best things to happen in my life.

And last but not least, the person all of you blog readers get to hear from most, me!

Marisa

Marisa Flacks

PR/Web Director

Twitter: @mquacks

Instagram: @mquacks

website: www.theclosetchronicles.com // avocadosandalines.tumblr.com

What is your year?

Sophomore!

What is your major?

I’m a Communication Major, with a double minor in Cultural Anthropology and Spanish.

What is your favorite part about Trim?

As someone who passed up the opportunity to go to FIT, I came to Rutgers worried that I wouldn’t find anyone as passionate as I was about fashion and culture. Trim is one big family of the most talented and passionate people I’ve ever met and I love working with them. Not to mention the people I meet through events and networking.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

This question always gets me. Realistically, I will probably be living in Weehawken commuting into a Fashion Assistant or PR Assitant job at a respected publication in NYC. My dream job would be to do what I’m doing now, PR for a well-rounded fashion and culture magazine like Nylon. I love all aspects of fashion, music and culture as well as meeting new people and traveling the world.

What are you top 5 right now?

1. Funny stuff : Buzzfeed

2. Fashion News : StyleCaster and Fashionista

3. Style Blogs : Cupcakes and Cashmere

4. Youtubers : Arden Rose, Jenna Marbles, Jimmy Tatro (A.K.A my future husband, you’ll all be getting an invitation to the wedding, no worries.)

5. Local NB Bands – recently since starting the music section of the blog, I’ve found a deep love for all New Brunswick based bands, they’re so passionate and excited about their work and I love being around that kind of energy.

Fun Facts:

  • I prefer Tea over coffee any day… lately I’m obsessed with Mint Tea with a slice of lemon.
  • My first pet was a hamster named Emily, she was a gift my mom gave me for learning how to use the potty when I was 3.
  • My puppies are my kids, if you don’t like my dogs, chances are I don’t like you. (But not really cause all my best friends hate my dogs, they’re just jealous)
  • I have an aunt who lives in Switzerland, I wish I could say I’ve been there but I don’t remember anything considering I was 3 months old.
  • The first celebrity I ever met was Nicole Miller after visiting her showroom.
  • I would rather have my blackberry back than get a new iPhone any day…judge me.
  • I speak pretty fluent Spanish, yet I’m too embarrassed to actually speak to anyone, even my best friend who is from Columbia.
  • I have a fascination with people, not in a creepy way. I love learning about people’s lives, dreams, and ambitions.
  • I have 2 tattoos, and if I wasn’t scared to mark my whole body, I’d probably be covered. I’m probably the only person you’ll ever meet who says tattoos don’t hurt, they tickle.
  • Trim is and probably always will be my favorite job, I love what I do and I hope all you do too 🙂

Thanks for being such a great interactive audience! Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter and Instagram @TrimMagazine.

Leave a Reply

