Food

Food Fridays: West Coast Tastes

Hi guys & gals!

It’s Food Friday and I have a special treat for all of you! I’m still traveling in California and recently went to the most amazing farmer’s market. When I think of a farmer’s market in NJ, I think of a small little place, offering only a small variety foods.

THIS ONE WAS SO DIFFERENT.

Starting off, there is a free trolley that takes you to all of the market’s locations. Once you get to the market there was everything from freshly grown, local and organic fruits and vegetables to homemade sauces and dips to food stands of all different cuisines. The food stands. There was Jamaican. East African. Thai. Mexican. Mediterranean. Indian. THE LIST GOES ON. I tried fresh peaches, nectarines, berries, apples, pears, MANGOES and GUAVAS. I was stuffed from all the samples I had. They made such a yummy meal.

Oh and here is the best part. This farmer’s market was so diverse and well accommodated for vegans/vegetarians (besides just the fresh fruits & veggies), especially in the dessert department. VEGAN CHEESECAKE (and so much more). I sampled it. It was delish.

Here were my favorites:cafarm1

Pecan Pie from Mook & Pop’s Culinary Delights.

cafarm2

Homemade peanut butter from Pacific Beach Peanut Butter: I tried the toffee flavor. YUM.

Original VEGAN Cheesecake: This had more of a coconut flavor, but nonetheless, it was way too scrumdiddlyumptious. It was from a place called The Raw Vegan. It was so good that I forgot to take a pic.

Shrimp and Ahi Tuna Tacos. Dude. They made the fish right in front of you. If you love seafood and tacos…this is definitely the choice foe you. The merchants were shucking sea urchins & oysters too for a raw oyster bar. The name of this place is pretty cool too: Big Poppa’s Fresh Fish Company.

cafarm3cafarm4

(I had to include my adorable cousin, Ava, in this post!)

Carne Asada Tacos. I didn’t get these myself, just tried a bite from one of my family members. Nonetheless…OH SO APPETIZING.

cafarm5

I could write so much more about this awesome place but I’ll leave y’all off with the name of this Farmer’s Market in case any of you happen to land in San Diego anytime soon. It’s called Hillcrest Farmer’s Market and here is the link for more information: http://hillcrestfarmersmarket.com

If you love food, you’ll definitely love this!

Until next time,

Ruchi Sherikar

Leave a Reply

