Fashion / Women's Fashion

Back-to-School Weekly Wears: August 18th

Yes, I apologize for putting those words together on your computer screen. I know the thought of classes, books, homework, midterms, etc. makes you want to cry. However, there’s always that one little thing that makes going back to school a little more exciting….SCHOOL SHOPPING. Now, ladies, I’m sure this may be a little overwhelming at times because there’s so much to choose from and so much that you want to incorporate into your new look for this year, however, I’ve put together a list of 4 staples to make sure to include in your closet for the upcoming year.

I came across this specific picture on Pinterest, and while I don’t necessarily agree with the choice of baggy pant and heeled-boot, I do think that the outfit in itself contains all of the staples you should have in your closet to be able to finish off any outfit this coming season.

ab621cc7c185e772f0b6fe9e64639f24

1. Leather Jackets

I have to admit that personally, I have an obsession with leather jackets. If I could buy one in every color, shape, and size, no doubt I would do it. They’re so easy to throw on and make any easy outfit look a little more dressed up or hardcore. If you’re feeling lazy and just want to wear jeans and a tank top to class, throw on a leather jacket and you will look a lot more structured and put together. This year, stores everywhere have tried to incorporate this new type of leather jacket into their selections; the jean/leather jacket, and the cargo/leather jacket. Both have a more casual spin with an edgy accent, and I couldn’t be more in love.

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 10.36.51 PM

2. Boots

Another one of my obsessions, you could say I have somewhat of a boot collection. There are definitely so many styles, even though I have the basic black boot pictures below. Some big trends this year are knee-high boots, they’re super comfortable and again they add an extra something to an outfit without having you feeling too dressed up or uncomfortable! Not to mention, they’re great to pair with leggings and to keep your feet warm and dry on a rainy day!

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 10.38.43 PM

3. Pants

Unfortunately, pants are kind of a necessity. If I had the choice I would wear leggings and boots everyday of my life, however, since some days it’s required to wear real pants, I have recently become attracted to a new design of bottoms which my mother likes to call “parachute pants”. According to her, back in the 80’s these kinds of pants were very popular with men who had mullets, however today they are made in different kinds of prints and colors to compliment any fashionable women’s outfit. They’re baggy, comfortable and can be perfectly paired with flats or some strappy heels.

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 10.42.10 PM

4. Bags

Since my freshman year of high school I have used the same leather shoulder bag from Target, I like to call it my ‘lucky bag’. That thing has seen it all from break ups to school projects to traveling to NYC, it’s been everywhere and probably smells like everything ,but it’s my baby and fits everything I could possibly need. Unfortunately this summer, its’ wonderful life has come to an end. The straps were worn down to a string and it can’t be used anymore, so I had to go out and find a new bag. I haven’t found the perfect one yet, but I have been debating between these two kinds of bags. A messenger bag is adorable and a great accessory for any outfit, however some don’t fit much and you may end up with a ‘crooked spine’ like my mother likes to say. Or, you could go for the not-so-classic backpack. These kinds of backpacks are made with different fabrics, textures, and accessories than usual backpacks but are great for any fashionista to carry to class.

Screen Shot 2013-08-18 at 10.54.39 PM

Now that you’re well equipt, I hope you can find joy in the upcoming school year by spicing up your closet and creating a new look for yourself! It’s never to late to re-create your style!

xoxo

Marisa Flacks

IG: @mquacks

Twitter: @mquacks

Leave a Reply

